Newspapers

Letters in newspapers are an excellent way of promoting the Campaign for an English Parliament and our aims. It’s certainly cheaper than advertising and more people read the letters pages than newspaper advertisements!You don’t have to “work” for the Campaign for an English Parliament to write to newspapers on behalf of the Campaign for an English Parliament, you just need to be a member and make sure that you don’t say anything that goes against CEP policy if you’re putting the CEP’s name to it.

Below is a list of national and international newspapers that you might want to write to. It is far more difficult to get a letter published in a national newspaper than it is a local paper. There is a list of local newspapers at MediaUK if you would prefer to write to a local publication. Writing to foreign newspapers might seem like a strange thing to do but it’s a brilliant opportunity to embarrass the British government, especially if a member of the British government is visiting their country at the time.

Newspaper Address e-mail address to send letters to
The Daily Mail Northcliffe House, 2 Derry Street, London. W8 5TT letters@dailymail.co.uk
The Guardian 119 Farringdon Road, London. EC13 3ER letters@guardian.co.uk
The Observer 119 Farringdon Road, London. EC13 3ER letters@observer.co.uk
The Independent Independent House, 191 Marsh Wall, London. E14 9RS letters@independent.co.uk or sundayletters@independent.co.uk
The Times 1 Pennington Street, London. E98 1ST letter@the-times.co.uk
The Sunday Times 1 Pennington Street, Fourth Floor, London. E98 1SD letters@sunday-times.co.uk
The Financial Times Number One, 1 Southwark Bridge, London. SE1 9HL letters.editor@ft.com
The Sun 1 Virginia Street Wapping letters@the-sun.co.uk
Daily Mirror 1 Canada Square, Canary Wharf, London. E14 5AP mailbox@mirror.co.uk
Sunday Mirror 1 Canada Square, Canary Wharf, London. E14 5AP
The Daily Telegraph 1 Canada Square, Canary Wharf, London. E14 5DT dtletters@telegraph.co.uk
The Daily Express 245 Blackfriars Rd, London. SE1 9UX expressletters@express.co.uk
The Daily Star news@dailystar.co.uk
The Evening Standard Northcliffe House, 2 Derry Street, London. W8 5TT letters@standard.co.uk
News of theWorld 1 Virginia Street, London. E98 1XY letters@notw.co.uk
The Scotsman Barclay House, 108 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AS letters_TS@scotsman.com
lettersSOS@scotsman.com (on Sunday)
Sunday Herald letters@sundayherald.com
The Belfast Telegraph editor@belfasttelegraph.co.uk

International Press

Nation Newspaper E-mail letter to the editor
International International Herald Tribune letters@iht.com
USA USA Today editor@usatoday.com
USA Los Angeles Times letters@latimes.com
USA New York Times letters@nytimes.com
USA Wall Street Journal letter.editor@edit.wsj.com
USA Washington Post use form at www.washingtonpost.com
USA Miami Herald Herald Ed@aol.com
USA Boston Herald letterstoeditor@bostonherald.com
USA E-mail hundreds of US papers at once www.opedletters.com
Canada Vancouver Sun sunletters@pacpress.southam.ca
Canada Toronto Globe & Mail Canada facts@globeandmail.ca
Canada Edmonton Journal letters@thejournal.southam.ca
Canada Montreal Gazette www.montrealgazette.com
Republic of Ireland Irish Times itwired@irish-times.com
Australia The Australian letters@theaustralian.com.au
Australia Sydney Morning Herald letters@smh.fairfax.com.au
Australia Melbourne Age letters@theage.com.au
Australia The Canberra Times letters.editor@canberratimes.com.au
New Zealand New Zealand Herald letters@herald.co.nz
New Zealand Evening Post editor@evpost.co.nz
South Africa Sunday Times South Africa suntimes@sundaytimes.co.za
South Africa Johannesburg Star bsa@star.argus.co.za
Hong Kong Hong Kong South China Morning Post scmplet@scmp.com